Why I Write

I write because I can’t stop myself.

I ‘began’ writing three times. Once at the age of thirteen in an old hardback notebook of my grandmother’s. The second time I was nineteen and wrote two-thirds of a play I had no idea what to do with. The third time was at twenty-four when I decided categorically I didn’t want to live alongside everyone else. I wanted to hide from a life that hurt too much.

Sixteen years later I’m about to have my first short story published. Life still visits me daily and I battle her and also embrace her. And  – as I have done since I was thirteen, and probably younger – I write to feel the pen in my hand, the paper beneath my wrist as I move it across the page. And in the years between I have slowly learned what to do with the words I’m compelled to put on paper because I can’t stop moving my hand.

6 comments on “Why I Write

  1. Kate says:

    I agree. Sometimes I write because I like the physical feeling of doing it.

  2. johncoyote says:

    I understand why you write. I write and read to relax and learn. I believe we need to read to become a better writer. Take time and effort to become a good writer. Thank you for the thoughts.

    • kinkyfreedom says:

      Thanks for your comments John, I certainly write to relax. I agree we need to read to become more developed as writers. What do you like to read?

      • johncoyote says:

        I’m on 4 poetry sites. I read about six hundred poems and stories a week. I try to leave comments on each poem and story I read. Writer’s Cafe is my favorite.

      • kinkyfreedom says:

        Your poems are very moving – they come right from the heart, telling hundreds of stories of a life filled with the joys, sorrows and adventures from taking the time to notice others. I wiped away more than one tear.

Leave a Reply

